The Houston Roundball Review is an online basketball publication
by: Kris Gardner, United States Basketball Writers Association member. Credentialed media member since 1997. USBWA approved online journalist. Voter of Lowe's Senior CLASS, Naismith, USBWA, and Wooden awards.

Contact Kris Gardner for details pertaining to advertising on the website; the blogs; and / or the podcasts.

Get Rice Owls men's hoops news from The HRR by Email

Rice Men's Basketball Announces 2020-21 Schedule

UPDATED: November 24, 2020 -- 1:45 p.m. CT

POSTED: November 17, 2020 -- 3:13 p.m. CT

Twelve home games, including an amended Conference USA schedule, highlight the 2020-21 Rice Men's Basketball schedule, announced Tuesday afternoon by Rice Head Coach Scott Pera.

Rice opens the season Thanksgiving weekend with the Thanksgiving Invitational at Incarnate Word. The Owls open the tournament on Nov. 27 against the Cardinals. The following day, Rice will take on Our Lady of the Lake.

This season, Conference USA will move to a new 18-game regular season format for conference play that focuses on the health and safety of student-athletes. In this format, schools will play two games per visit at four select C-USA schools and host four select teams for a two-game series, while playing a rival opponent one time home and away.

Moving to this schedule format will significantly reduce the amount of travel during conference play, with the aim of minimizing the risks associated with COVID-19. Additionally, the final week of the regular season (March 5-6) may be utilized to re-schedule any postponed games.

The conference tournament will return to its familiar 12-team field that it has utilized for the past several seasons. The top 12 regular season finishers in conference play will qualify for the Championship, played Mar. 10-13 at the Ford Center at The Star in Frisco.

Game times and television information will be announced at a later date.

Due to guidelines set by Conference USA, Rice will be limited to no more than 15% capacity for all home games. Rice Athletics is currently working the Rice Crisis Management Team on a more detailed plan to allow fans inside Tudor Fieldhouse as well as additional guidelines to ensure fan safety at events. Further information will be communicated as soon as it is available.


SUPPORT The Houston Roundball Review via PayPal or via the Cash App.

Sign up to get ESPN+.

Or, get the Disney bundle: ESPN+, Disney+, and Hulu!!! Save when you bundle all three and get the best movies, shows & sports.


2020-21 Rice Owls Men's Basketball Schedule (schedule subject to change)

Thanksgiving Invitational -- San Antonio, TX

Date (Day)
Time (CT) / Result
Game
Venue
Nov. 27 (Fri) W, 68-53. at Incarnate Word Alice P. McDermott Convocation Center
Nov. 28 (Sat) W, 103-64. Our Lady of the Lake Alice P. McDermott Convocation Center
Date (Day)
Time (CT)
Game
Venue
Dec. 3 (Thu) 2 p.m. vs LeTourneau Tudor Fieldhouse
Dec. 5 (Sat) 7 p.m. at HBU Sharp Gym
Dec. 12 (Sat) 1 p.m. at Houston (ESPN+) Fertitta Center
Dec. 15 (Tue) TBA vs HBU Tudor Fieldhouse
Dec. 19 (Sat) 2 p.m. at Sam Houston State Bernard G. Johnson Coliseum
Dec. 21 (Mon) TBA vs Incarnate Word Tudor Fieldhouse
Jan. 1 (Fri) 2 p.m. vs UTSA (ESPN+) Tudor Fieldhouse
Jan. 2 (Sat) 2 p.m. vs UTSA (ESPN+) Tudor Fieldhouse
Jan. 8 (Fri) 8 p.m. at UTEP Don Haskins Center
Jan. 9 (Sat) 8 p.m. at UTEP (ESPN+) Don Haskins Center
Jan. 15 (Fri) 2 p.m. vs Old Dominion (ESPN+) Tudor Fieldhouse
Jan. 16 (Sat) 1 p.m. vs Old Dominion (ESPN+) Tudor Fieldhouse
Jan. 22 (Fri) 6:30 p.m. at UAB Bartow Arena
Jan. 23 (Sat) 4 p.m. at UAB (ESPN+) Bartow Arena
Jan. 27 or 28 (Wed or Thu) 7 p.m. vs North Texas (ESPN+) Tudor Fieldhouse
Jan. 30 (Sat) 4 p.m. at North Texas The Super Pit
Feb. 5 (Fri) 7 p.m. vs Southern Miss Tudor Fieldhouse
Feb. 6 (Sat) TBA vs Southern Miss Tudor Fieldhouse
Feb. 12 (Fri) 7 p.m. at WKU E.A. Diddle Arena
Feb. 13 (Sat) TBA at WKU E.A. Diddle Arena
Feb. 19 (Fri) 7 p.m. vs Marshall (ESPN+ Tudor Fieldhouse
Feb. 20 (Sat) 4 p.m. vs Marshall (ESPN+ Tudor Fieldhouse
Feb. 26 (Fri) 6:30 p.m. at Louisiana Tech Thomas Assembly Center
Feb. 27 (Sat) 6 p.m. at Louisiana Tech Thomas Assembly Center
Mar. 10 (Wed) TBA C-USA Championship, First Round Ford Center at The Star

CLICK HERE for more news and info about the Rice Owls men's basketball team.

 Subscribe in a RSS feeds reader

Get Rice Owls men's hoops news from The HRR by Email

The HRR on Twitter

The HRR on Facebook