The Houston Roundball Review is an online basketball publication
by: Kris Gardner, United States Basketball Writers Association member. Credentialed media member since 1997. USBWA approved online journalist. Voter of Lowe's Senior CLASS, Naismith, USBWA, and Wooden awards.

Contact Kris Gardner for details pertaining to advertising on the website; the blogs; and / or the podcasts.

Get NCAA women's hoops info from The HRR via Email

John R. Wooden Award Announces 2019-20 Midseason Top 25 Watch List

Four players make their debut on the Wooden Watch™

POSTED: January 8, 2020 -- 9:32 p.m. CT

The John R. Wooden Award® announced the Women's Midseason Top 25 Watch List on ESPNW. Chosen by a poll of national college basketball experts based on their performances during the first half of the 2019-20 season, the list comprises of 25 student-athletes who are front-runners for the sport's most prestigious honor.

On the 2020 Wooden Award Midseason Top 25 Watch List, four players make their debut on the Wooden Watch after not being named on the Preseason Top 30 Watch List: Aliyah Boston (South Carolina), Elissa Cunane (NC State), Olivia Nelson-Ododa (Connecticut) and Megan Walker (Connecticut).

Five schools, all currently ranked in the top-six of the AP Poll, have multiple players on the list, led by Connecticut with four selections (Crystal Dangerfield, Nelson-Ododa, Walker, and Christyn Williams), followed by Oregon with three selections (Ruthy Hebard, Sabrina Ionescu, and Satou Sabally), and three schools with two selections each: Baylor (Lauren Cox and Juicy Landrum), Oregon State (Mikayla Pivec and Destiny Slocum), and South Carolina (Boston and Tyasha Harris).

The Pac-12 leads all conferences with seven selections, followed by the SEC with six, the ACC and American with four each, and the Big 12 and Big Ten with two selections apiece.

SUPPORT The Houston Roundball Review via PayPal or via the Cash App.

OR get the Disney bundle:

Get ESPN+, Disney+, and Hulu!!! Save 25% when you bundle all three and get the best movies, shows & sports.

The players on the list are considered strong candidates for the 2020 John R. Wooden Award Women's Player of the Year presented by Wendy's. Players not chosen to the preseason list are still eligible for the Wooden Award™ late season list, and the National Ballot. The National Ballot consists of 15 top players who have proven to their universities that they meet or exceed the qualifications of the Wooden Award. Nearly 1,000 voters will rank in order 10 of those 15 players when voting opens prior to the NCAA Tournament and will allow voters to take into consideration performance during early round games. The Wooden Award All American Team™ will be announced the week of the “Elite Eight” round of the NCAA Tournament. The winner of the 2020 John R. Wooden Award will be presented by Wendy's during the ESPN College Basketball Awards on Friday, April 10, 2020.

John R. Wooden Award Announces 2019-20 Preseason Top 30 Watch List

Aliyah Boston South Carolina SEC 6'5" Fr F/C
Chennedy Carter Texas A&M SEC 5'7" Jr G
Kaila Charles Maryland Big Ten 6'1" Sr G
Lauren Cox Baylor Big 12 6'4" Sr F
Elissa Cunane NC State ACC 6'4" Soph C
Crystal Dangerfield UConn The American 5'5" Sr G
Rennia Davis Tennessee SEC 6'2" Jr G/F
Chelsea Dungee Arkansas SEC 5'11" Jr G
Dana Evans Louisville ACC 5'6" Jr G
Kiah Gillespie Florida State ACC 6'2" Jr F
Tyasha Harris South Carolina SEC 5'10" Sr G
Ruthy Hebard Oregon Pac-12 6'4" Sr F/C
Rhyne Howard Kentucky SEC 6'2" Soph G/F
Sabrina Ionescu# Oregon Pac-12 5'11" Sr G
Juicy Landrum Baylor Big 12 5'8" Sr G
Aari McDonald Arizona Pac-12 5'6" Jr G
Beatrice Mompremier Miami ACC 6'4" Sr F/C
Olivia Nelson-Ododa UConn The American 6'5" Soph C/G
Michaela Onyenwere UCLA Pac-12 6'0" Jr F
Ali Patberg Indiana Big Ten 5'11" Jr G
Mikayla Pivec Oregon State Pac-12 5'10" Sr G
Satou Sabally Oregon Pac-12 6'4" Jr F
Destiny Slocum Oregon State Pac-12 5'7" Jr G
Megan Walker UConn The American 6'1" Jr F
Christyn Williams UConn The American 5'11" Soph G

# - indicates player selected as the 2019 Wooden Award Player of the Year

CLICK HERE for more NCAAW news and info.

 Subscribe in a RSS Feeds reader

Get NCAA women's hoops info from The HRR via Email

Click to Support

The HRR on Twitter

The HRR on Facebook