The Houston Roundball Review is an online basketball publication
by: Kris Gardner, United States Basketball Writers Association member. Credentialed media member since 1997. USBWA approved online journalist. Voter of Lowe's Senior CLASS, Naismith, USBWA, and Wooden awards.

Contact Kris Gardner for details pertaining to advertising on the website; the blogs; and / or the podcasts.

Get NCAA women's hoops info from The HRR via Email

John R. Wooden Award Announces 2019-20 Preseason Top 30 Watch List

2019 Wooden Award Winner Sabrina Ionescu Headlines the Wooden Watch

POSTED: November 5, 2019 -- 1:29 p.m. CT

The John R. Wooden Award® announced the Women’s Preseason Top 30 Watch List on ESPNW. The list is comprised of 30 student-athletes who are the early front-runners for college basketball's most prestigious honor. The list is chosen by a preseason poll of national women's college basketball media members.

Several universities boast multiple players on the list: Baylor (Lauren Cox, Juicy Landrum, and DiDi Richards) and Oregon (Ruthy Hebard, Sabrina Ionescu, and Satou Sabally) lead all schools with three selections, while Connecticut (Crystal Dangerfield and Christyn Williams), Oregon State (Mikayla Pivec and Destiny Slocum), and Stanford (DiJonai Carrington and Kiana Williams) each have two players on the list.

The preseason list represents nine conferences: the Pac-12 leads all conferences with nine selections, followed by the SEC with six, the ACC and Big 12 with four apiece, the American and Big Ten with two each, and Conference USA, Ivy League, and Missouri Valley with one selection apiece.

The players on the list are considered strong candidates for the 2020 John R. Wooden Award Women’s Player of the Year. Players not chosen to the preseason list are still eligible for the Wooden Award™ midseason list, late season list, and the National Ballot. The National Ballot consists of 15 top players who have proven to their universities that they meet or exceed the qualifications of the Wooden Award. Nearly 1,000 voters will rank in order 10 of those 15 players when voting opens prior to the NCAA Tournament and will allow voters to take into consideration performance during early round games. The Wooden Award All American Team™ will be announced the week of the “Elite Eight” round of the NCAA Tournament. The winner of the 2020 John R. Wooden Award will be presented during the ESPN College Basketball Awards on Friday, April 10, 2020.

Get ESPN+, Disney+, and Hulu!!! Save 25% when you bundle all three and get the best movies, shows & sports.

John R. Wooden Award Announces 2019-20 Preseason Top 30 Watch List

Bella Alarie Princeton Ivy League 6'4" Sr G/F
DiJonai Carrington Stanford Pac-12 5'11" Sr G
Chennedy Carter Texas A&M SEC 5'7" Jr G
Kaila Charles Maryland Big Ten 6'1" Sr G
Lauren Cox Baylor Big 12 6'4" Sr F
Crystal Dangerfield UConn The American 5'5" Sr G
Rennia Davis Tennessee SEC 6'2" Jr G/F
Chelsea Dungee Arkansas SEC 5'11" Jr G
Dana Evans Louisville ACC 5'6" Jr G
Kiah Gillespie Florida State ACC 6'2" Jr F
Haley Gorecki Duke ACC 6'0" Sr G
Tyasha Harris South Carolina SEC 5'10" Sr G
Ruthy Hebard Oregon Pac-12 6'4" Sr F/C
Becca Hitner Drake Missouri Valley 6'0" Sr G
Rhyne Howard Kentucky SEC 6'2" Soph G/F
Sabrina Ionescu# Oregon Pac-12 5'11" Sr G
Juicy Landrum Baylor Big 12 5'8" Sr G
Aari McDonald Arizona Pac-12 5'6" Jr G
Ayana Mitchell LSU SEC 6'0" Sr F
Beatrice Mompremier Miami ACC 6'4" Sr F/C
Erica Ogwumike Rice Conference USA 5'9" Sr G
Michaela Onyenwere UCLA Pac-12 6'0" Jr F
Ali Patberg Indiana Big Ten 5'11" Jr G
Mikayla Pivec Oregon State Pac-12 5'10" Sr G
DiDi Richards Baylor Big 12 6'1" Jr G/F
Satou Sabally Oregon Pac-12 6'4" Jr F
Destiny Slocum Oregon State Pac-12 5'7" Jr G
Christyn Williams UConn The American 5'11" Soph G/F
Kiana Williams Stanford Pac-12 5'8" Jr G
Peyton Williams K-State Big 12 6'4" Sr F/C

# - indicates player selected as the 2019 Wooden Award Player of the Year

CLICK HERE for more NCAAW news and info.

 Subscribe in a RSS Feeds reader

Get NCAA women's hoops info from The HRR via Email

Click to Support

The HRR on Twitter

The HRR on Facebook