The Houston Roundball Review is an online basketball publication
by: Kris Gardner, United States Basketball Writers Association member. Credentialed media member since 1997. USBWA approved online journalist. Voter of Lowe's Senior CLASS, Naismith, USBWA, and Wooden awards.

Contact Kris Gardner for details pertaining to advertising on the website; the blogs; and / or the podcasts.

Rockets Announce 2019 Preseason Schedule

Posted: August 15, 2019 -- 12:54 p.m. CT

The Houston Rockets today announced their 2019 preseason schedule.

The Rockets open the preseason against the Shanghai Sharks of the Chinese Basketball Association at Toyota Center on September 30. It marks the fourth straight year the Rockets have hosted the Sharks.

On October 4 (October 3 Hawaiian time), the Rockets will face the new look Los Angeles Clippers in Honolulu, Hawaii. The Rockets will then play a pair of games against the defending NBA Champion Toronto Raptors in Tokyo on October 8 and October 10 as part of NBA Japan Games 2019. The last time the Rockets visited Japan was for the first two regular season games in 1992-93 against the Seattle Supersonics.


In March 2019, ESPN marketing contacted me about partnering to get people to sign up to ESPN+. (Partnering means I receive a commission when someone signs up to ESPN+.)

Sign up to ESPN+ and, at the same time, support The Houston Roundball Review (me) continue the work which began in 1994.

Stream live sports and ESPN originals PLUS receive the ESPN Insider when you subscribe to ESPN+ for only $4.99 a month. Click this link and sign up.

Or, contribute to The HRR's Tip Jar. Thank you in advance.


Upon returning from Japan, the Rockets will play division rival San Antonio on October 16 at Toyota Center before closing out the preseason at Miami on October 18.

Houston Rockets 2019 Preseason Schedule

Opponent
Location
Date/Time
TV
Shanghai Sharks Toyota Center (Houston, TX) Monday, Sept. 30; 7 p.m. CT) AT&T SportsNet)
L.A. Clippers Stan Sheriff Center (Honolulu, Hawaii) 12 a.m. CT on Oct. 4 (7 p.m. HST on Oct. 3)
Toronto Saitama Super Arena (Tokyo, Japan) Tuesday, Oct. 8; 5 a.m. CT (7 p.m. JST)
Toronto Saitama Super Arena (Tokyo, Japan) Thursday, Oct. 10; 5 a.m. CT (7 p.m. JST) )
San Antonio Toyota Center (Houston, TX) Wednesday, Oct. 16; 7 p.m. CT AT&T SportsNet
Miami AmericanAirlines Arena (Miami, FL) Friday, Oct. 18; 7 p.m. CT (8 p.m. ET)

CLICK HERE for Rockets' news and information.

 Subscribe in a reader

Subscribe to get Houston Rockets news and info from The HRR by Email

Chip in to The HRR's Tip Jar