The Houston Roundball Review is an online basketball publication
by: Kris Gardner, United States Basketball Writers Association member. Credentialed media member since 1997. USBWA approved online journalist. Voter of Katrina McClain, Naismith, USBWA, and Wooden awards.

Contact Kris Gardner for details pertaining to advertising on the website; the blogs; and / or the podcasts.

Kelvin Sampson Receives Ben Jobe Award

Houston Cougars logo

Buy Houston Cougars Gear at

POSTED: April 1, 2022 -- 1:33 p.m. CT

Houston Cougars Men's Basketball Coach Kelvin Sampson added another award to his trophy case on Friday afternoon when he was named the recipient of the 2022 Ben Jobe Award.

The Ben Jobe Award, which is presented annually to the top Division I minority coach, is named in honor of one of the finest men to ever coach college basketball.

Friday's honor is the latest national coaching award Sampson received following the 2021-22 season. On Thursday, he was named the CBS Sports National Coach of the Year.

This is the sixth National Coach of the Year Award that Sampson has received during his career. That list includes the 2022 CBS Sports, 2021 John McLendon Award, 2019 Clarence "Big House" Gaines Award, 2002 National Association of Basketball Coaches and the 1995 Associated Press.

SUPPORT The Houston Roundball Review:

Shop at via this link;

Get ESPN+ via this link;

Save when you get the Disney bundle (ESPN+, Disney+ and Hulu) with this link;

OR, contribute via PayPal or the Cash App.

Other finalists for the Ben Jobe Award included: Kenny Blakeney (Howard); Mike Boynton (Oklahoma State); Landon Bussie (Alcorn State); Ed Cooley (Providence); Hubert Davis (North Carolina); Dana Ford (Missouri State); Dennis Gates (Cleveland State); Penny Hardaway (Memphis); Shaheen Holloway (Saint Peter's); Rob Jeter (Western Illinois); Terrence Johnson (Texas State); James Jones (Yale); Robert Jones (Norfolk State); Rob Lanier (Georgia State); Shantay Legans (Portland); Tony Madlock (South Carolina State); Bashir Mason (Wagner); Jordan Mincy (Jacksonville); Lamont Paris (Chattanooga); Richie Riley (South Alabama); Takayo Siddle (UNCW); Jerry Stackhouse (Vanderbilt); Dedrique Taylor (Cal State Fullerton) and Drew Valentine (Loyola).


Jobe is an icon in the history of basketball at Historically Black Colleges and Universities. He is best known as the head coach of the Southern University, a position he held for 12 seasons. He was also head coach at Alabama A&M, Alabama State, Talladega, Tuskegee and South Carolina State.

His record at Southern was 209-141 and included four NCAA Tournament appearances. He also coached the Jaguars to one NIT appearance, five SIAC championships, 11 SWAC titles and two NAIA Tournament Championships. Perhaps his most memorable moment as a coach was leading No. 15 seed Southern to a 93-78 win over No. 2 Georgia Tech in the first round of the 1993 NCAA Tournament. It stands as one of the great upsets in the history of the event.

CLICK HERE for news and info about the Coogs' men's basketball team.

 Subscribe in a RSS feeds reader

Click to Support The HRR

The HRR on Twitter

The HRR on Facebook