The Houston Roundball Review is an online basketball publication
by: Kris Gardner, United States Basketball Writers Association member. Credentialed media member since 1997. USBWA approved online journalist. Voter of Katrina McClain, Naismith, USBWA, and Wooden awards.

Contact Kris Gardner for details pertaining to advertising on the website; the blogs; and / or the podcasts.

Get the Disney Bundle. Movies, Shows, & Sports

Quentin Grimes Named Jerry West Award Finalist

Houston Cougars logo

Buy Houston Cougars Gear at

Fan Voting Presented by Dell Technologies Starts Friday, February 26

POSTED: February 23, 2021 -- 12:36 p.m. CT

Houston Cougars junior guard Quentin Grimes was named one of five finalists for the Jerry West Award, presented annually to the nation's top collegiate shooting guards, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Tuesday.

Grimes joined MaCio Teague (Baylor), Joel Ayayi (Gonzaga), Joe Wieskamp (Iowa) and Chris Duarte (Oregon).

Grimes was one of 30 student-athletes from schools across the nation to be named to the Team. The award is given by the Atlanta Tipoff Club to the nation's top collegiate player.

This season, Grimes leads the Cougars and ranks fourth in the American Athletic Conference with 16.9 points per game and stands eighth in the league with 6.5 rebounds per contest.

This is the latest midseason honor for Grimes. Grimes has also been named to the John R. Wooden Award Late-Season Top 20 Watch List and the Lute Olson Award Mid-Season Watch List.

"It is an immense honor to be considered a finalist for the Jerry West Award and these five student athletes have consistently contributed to the success of their teams at an elite level," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. "Our committee certainly has a tall task in determining this year's winner and we are grateful to have Jerry West's insights from a player, coach, and executive perspective."

"While this year's collegiate season has been largely unpredictable, the five finalists for the Shooting Guard of the Year Award have been extremely consistent," said Jerry West, Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 1980. "I look forward to watching these young men compete as they continue playing in their most critical games."

The winner of the 2021 Jerry West Award will be presented on ESPN, along with the other four members of the Men's Naismith Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award, in addition to the Women's Starting Five. Additional information about the award presentation, including date and time, will be released in the coming weeks.

Previous winners of the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award include Myles Powell, Seton Hall (2020); RJ Barrett, Duke (2019); Carsen Edwards, Purdue (2018); Malik Monk, Kentucky (2017); Buddy Hield, Oklahoma (2016) and D'Angelo Russell, Ohio State (2015).

SUPPORT The Houston Roundball Review:

Purchase your Coogs' gear at via this link;

Get ESPN+ via this link;

Save when you get the Disney bundle (ESPN+, Disney+ and Hulu) with this link;

OR, contribute via PayPal or the Cash App.

For more information on the 2021 Jerry West Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #WestAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, November 6.

2021 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award Finalists

MaCio Teague Baylor
Joel Ayayi Gonzaga
Quentin Grimes Houston
Joe Wieskamp Iowa
Chris Duarte Oregon

CLICK HERE for news and info about the Coogs' men's basketball team.

Click to Support The HRR

Official Merchandise

Houston Roundball Review Merch

Shop at

HBCUs gear

Houston Cougars gear

Rice Owls gear

Texas A&M Aggies gear

Texas Longhorns gear

Texas Southern Tigers gear

Shop at

Houston Rockets gear

Shop at