The Houston Roundball Review is an online basketball publication
by: Kris Gardner, United States Basketball Writers Association member. Credentialed media member since 1997. USBWA approved online journalist. Voter of Lowe's Senior CLASS, Naismith, USBWA, and Wooden awards.

Contact Kris Gardner for details pertaining to advertising on the website; the blogs; and / or the podcasts.

Get NCAA women's hoops info from The HRR via Email

John R. Wooden Award Announces 2020-21 Women's National Ballot

Six players return from the 2019-20 ballot

POSTED: March 6, 2021 -- 11:06 a.m. CT

The Los Angeles Athletic Club announced its 2021 Women's National Ballot for the John R. Wooden Award® today on ESPN College GameDay. Selected by the Wooden Award National Advisory Board, the National Ballot consists of 15 student-athletes who are candidates for the Wooden Award All American Team and Wooden Award Trophy as the most outstanding college basketball player in the United States.

Six players return to the 2021 Wooden Award National Ballot after appearing on the ballot in 2020: Aliyah Boston (South Carolina), Elissa Cunane (NC State), Dana Evans (Louisville), Rhyne Howard (Kentucky), Aari McDonald (Arizona) and Michaela Onyenwere (UCLA). Stanford leads all schools with two selections (Haley Jones and Kiana Williams). The Pac-12 leads all conferences with four selections, followed by the Big 12 and SEC with three, the ACC and Big Ten with two apiece, and the Big East with one.

All balloted players have been certified by their university to meet or exceed the qualifications for the Wooden Award as set forth by Coach Wooden when the Award was established. The qualifications include: candidates must exhibit strength of character, both on and off the court; candidates must be full-time students in an accredited NCAA college or university; candidates must be making progress toward graduation and have a cumulative 2.00 grade point average since enrolling in their school; candidates must contribute to team effort; candidates must excel in both offense and defense; and candidates should be considered on their performance over the course of the entire season.

Voting will take place from March 16th to March 23rd, and voters take into consideration a player's entire season of play, as well as the opening rounds of the NCAA Tournament. The finalists for the 2021 Wooden Award will be announced on March 26th.

SUPPORT The Houston Roundball Review via PayPal or via the Cash App.

Sign up to get ESPN+.

Or, get the Disney bundle: ESPN+, Disney+, and Hulu!!! Save when you bundle all three and get the best movies, shows & sports.

John R. Wooden Award Announces 2020-21 Women's National Ballot

Aliyah Boston* South Carolina SEC 6'5" Soph Forward
Paige Bueckers Connecticut Big East 5'11" Frosh Guard
Charli Collier Texas Big 12 6'5" Jr Forward / Center
Elissa Cunane* NC State ACC 6'5" Jr Center
Chelsea Dungee Arkansas SEC 5'11" Sr Guard
Dana Evans* Louisville ACC 5'6" Sr Guard
Arella Guirantes Rutgers Big Ten 5'11" Sr Guard
Naz Hillmon Michigan Big Ten 6'2" Jr Forward
Rhyne Howard* Kentucky SEC 6'2" Jr Guard / Forward
Haley Jones Stanford Pac-12 6'1" Soph Guard
Natasha Mack Oklahoma State Big 12 6'4" Sr Forward
Aari McDonald* Arizona Pac-12 5'6" Sr Guard
Michaela Onyenwere* UCLA Pac-12 6'0" Sr F
Nalyssa Smith Baylor Big12 6'2" Jr Forward
Kiana Williams Stanford Pac-12 5'8" Sr Guard

* indicates player selected as 2020 Wooden Award National Ballot

CLICK HERE for more NCAAW news and info.

 Subscribe in a RSS Feeds reader

Get NCAA women's hoops info from The HRR via Email

Click to Support

The HRR on Twitter

The HRR on Facebook