The Houston Roundball Review is an online basketball publication
by: Kris Gardner, United States Basketball Writers Association member. Credentialed media member since 1997. USBWA approved online journalist. Voter of Lowe's Senior CLASS, Naismith, USBWA, and Wooden awards.

Contact Kris Gardner for details pertaining to advertising on the website; the blogs; and / or the podcasts.

Basketball Hall of Fame Names Twenty Centers to Watch List for 2022 Lisa Leslie Award

Starting Five Fan Voting Presented by Dell Technologies to go Live today Friday, October 29

POSTED: October 29, 2021 -- 2:11 p.m. CT

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today the 20 watch list candidates for the 2022 Lisa Leslie Award. Named after the three-time All-American, 1994 National Player of the Year and Class of 2015 Hall of Famer, the annual award in its fifth year recognizes the top centers in women's NCAA Division I college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

Lisa Leslie is one of the most decorated basketball players of all time, men or women, at the collegiate, international and professional levels, said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “The student-athletes that have been named to the watchlist for this award are unquestionably among the best our game has to offer, and we're excited to watch them take the court and do what they do best this season most talented in the game today and we are very excited to watch them take the court this season. We thank Lisa for her involvement in this selection process, as well as our esteemed committee members and Dell Technologies who makes our fan voting component possible.”

College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2022 Lisa Leslie Center of the Year Award will be narrowed to 10 and then in late February to just five. In March the five finalists will be presented to Ms. Leslie and the Hall of Fame's selection committee where a winner will be selected.

The winner of the 2022 Lisa Leslie Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Women's Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award and the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award, in addition to the Men's Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Lisa Leslie Center of the Year Award include Aliyah Boston, South Carolina (2020 and 2021), Megan Gustafson, Iowa (2019); and A'ja Wilson, South Carolina (2018).

SUPPORT The Houston Roundball Review:

Shop at via this link;

Get ESPN+ via this link;

Save when you get the Disney bundle (ESPN+, Disney+ and Hulu) with this link;

OR, contribute via PayPal or the Cash App.

For more information on the 2022 Lisa Leslie Center of the Year Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #LeslieAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies goes live today, Friday, October 29.

2022 Lisa Leslie Center of the Year Award Candidates*

Queen Egbo Baylor
Sara Hamson BYU
Jenna Staiti Georgia
Mackenzie Holmes Indiana
Monika Czinano Iowa
Ayoka Lee Kansas State
Hannah Gusters LSU
Jessika Carter Mississippi State
Elissa Cunane NC State
Shakira Austin Ole Miss
Aliyah Boston South Carolina
Kamilla Cardoso South Carolina
Francesca Belibi Stanford
Tamari Key Tennessee
Ila Lane UC Santa Barbara
Olivia Nelson-Ododa UConn
Eleah Parker Virginia
Elizabeth Kitley Virginia Tech
Nancy Mulkey Washington
Bella Murekatete Washington State

* - Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2021-22 season

CLICK HERE for more NCAAW news and info.

 Subscribe in a RSS Feeds reader

Click here to Support The HRR

The HRR on Twitter

The HRR on Facebook