The Houston Roundball Review is an online basketball publication
by: Kris Gardner, United States Basketball Writers Association member. Credentialed media member since 1997. USBWA approved online journalist. Voter of Lowe's Senior CLASS, Naismith, USBWA, and Wooden awards.

Contact Kris Gardner for details pertaining to advertising on the website; the blogs; and / or the podcasts.

Basketball Hall of Fame Names Twenty Power Forwards to Watch List for 2022 Katrina McClain Award

Starting Five Fan Voting Presented by Dell Technologies to go Live on Friday, October 29

POSTED: October 28, 2021 -- 1:12 p.m. CT

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today the 20 watch list candidates for the 2022 Katrina McClain Award. Named after the two-time All-American and 1987 National Player of the Year, the annual award in its fifth year recognizes the top power forwards in women's NCAA Division I college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

“From the University of Georgia to Team USA, Katrina McClain was a standout power forward,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “To be named to the McClain Award watch list is a tremendous honor and we're proud to recognize these tremendous student athletes. As we launch our fan voting component tomorrow, we encourage fans to cast their votes alongside our distinguished selection committee.”

College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2022 Katrina McClain Power Forward of the Year Award will be narrowed to 10 and then in late February to just five. In March the five finalists will be presented to Ms. McClain and the Hall of Fame's selection committee where a winner will be selected.

The winner of the 2022 Katrina McClain Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Women's Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men's Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Katrina McClain Power Forward of the Year Award include NaLyssa Smith, Baylor (2021); Ruthy Hebard, Oregon (2020); Napheesa Collier, Connecticut (2019); and Ruthy Hebard, Oregon (2018).

SUPPORT The Houston Roundball Review:

Shop at via this link;

Get ESPN+ via this link;

Save when you get the Disney bundle (ESPN+, Disney+ and Hulu) with this link;

OR, contribute via PayPal or the Cash App.

For more information on the 2022 Katrina McClain Power Forward of the Year Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #McClainAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, October 29.

2022 Katrina McClain Power Forward of the Year Award Candidates*

NaLyssa Smith Baylor
Lauren Gustin BYU
Lorela Cubaj Georgia Tech
Maddi Utti Fresno State
Olivia Cochran Louisville
Naz Hillmon Michigan
Sam Brunelle Notre Dame
Nyara Sabally Oregon
Taylor Jones Oregon State
Sania Feagin South Carolina
Cameron Brink Stanford
Alexus Dye Tennessee
Dorka Juhasz UConn
Aaliyah Edwards UConn
Alissa Pili USC
Bethy Mununga USF
Maddy Siegrist Villanova
Kari Niblack West Virginia
Esmery Martinez West Virginia
Kayla Jones NC State

* - Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2021-22 season

CLICK HERE for more NCAAW news and info.

 Subscribe in a RSS Feeds reader

Click here to Support The HRR

The HRR on Twitter

The HRR on Facebook