The Houston Roundball Review is an online basketball publication
by: Kris Gardner, United States Basketball Writers Association member. Credentialed media member since 1997. USBWA approved online journalist. Voter of Lowe's Senior CLASS, Naismith, USBWA, and Wooden awards.

Contact Kris Gardner for details pertaining to advertising on the website; the blogs; and / or the podcasts.

Get NCAA women's hoops info from The HRR via Email

The HRR's votes for NCAA women's basketball awards for 2019-'20

My ballots for the 2020 John R. Wooden Award Women's Player of the Year, the USBWA Women's Honors, and the Senior CLASS Award.

Posted: March 20, 2020 -- 4:55 p.m. CT

Earlier this week, I voted for Ellie Harmeyer (6'0", Senior, Forward, Belmont) for the Senior CLASS Award.

The Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of NCAA Division I senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors.

Here's my ballot for the 2020 John R. Wooden Award Women's Player of the Year:

Sabrina Ionescu 5'11" Senior Guard Oregon 10
Tyasha Harris 5'11" Senior Guard South Carolina 9
Lauren Cox 6'4" Senior Forward Baylor 8
Rhyne Howard 6'2" Sophomore Guard Kentucky 7
Ruthy Hebard 6'4" Senior Forward Oregon 6
Kaila Charles 6'1" Senior Guard Maryland 5
Elissa Cunane 6'5" Sophomore Center NC State 4
Aari McDonald 5'6" Junior Guard Arizona 3
Satou Sabally 6'4" Junior Forward Oregon 2
Megan Walker 6'1" Junior Forward UConn 1

Return to top

Get ESPN+, Disney+, and Hulu!!! Save 25% when you bundle all three and get the best movies, shows & sports.

Here's my ballot for the 2019-'20 USBWA (United States Basketball Writers Association) Women's Honors:


First Team

Sabrina Ionescu, Oregon

Tyasha Harris, South Carolina

Rhyne Howard, Kentucky

Lauren Cox, Baylor

Ruthy Hebard, Oregon

Second Team

Aari McDonald, Arizona

Kaila Charles, Maryland

Elissa Cunane, North Carolina State

Satou Sabally, Oregon

Megan Walker, UConn

Third Team

Dana Evans, Louisville

Aliyah Boston, South Carolina

Kathleen Doyle, Iowa

Erica Ogwumike, Rice

Chennedy Carter, Texas A&M


Dawn Staley, South Carolina

Joe McKeown, Northwestern

Kelly Graves, Oregon

ANN MEYERS DRYSDALE AWARD (National Player of the Year)

Sabrina Ionescu, Oregon

Tyasha Harris, South Carolina

Lauren Cox, Baylor

TAMIKA CATCHINGS AWARD (National Freshman Player of the Year)

Aliyah Boston, South Carolina

Aislynn Hayes, Middle Tennessee

Maddy Siegrist, Villanova

Return to top

CLICK HERE for more NCAAW news and info.

 Subscribe in a RSS Feeds reader

Get NCAA women's hoops info from The HRR via Email

Click to Support

The HRR on Twitter

The HRR on Facebook