The Houston Roundball Review is an online basketball publication
by: Kris Gardner, United States Basketball Writers Association member. Credentialed media member since 1997. USBWA approved online journalist. Voter of Lowe's Senior CLASS, Naismith, USBWA, and Wooden awards.

Contact Kris Gardner for details pertaining to advertising on the website; the blogs; and / or the podcasts.

Get NCAA women's hoops info from The HRR via Email

Basketball Hall of Fame Names Twenty Power Forwards to Watch List for 2021 Katrina McClain Award

Starting Five Fan Voting Presented by Dell Technologies to go Live on Friday, November 13

POSTED: November 12, 2020 -- 10:20 p.m. CT

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today the 20 watch list candidates for the 2021 Katrina McClain Award. Named after the two-time All-American and 1987 National Player of the Year, the annual award in its fourth year recognizes the top power forwards in women's NCAA Division I college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

"From the University of Georgia to Team USA, Katrina McClain was a standout power forward," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. "To be named to the McClain Award watch list is a tremendous honor and we're proud to recognize these tremendous student athletes. As we launch our fan voting component tomorrow, we encourage fans to cast their votes alongside our distinguished selection committee."

College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In early February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2021 Katrina McClain Award will be narrowed to just 10. In early March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. McClain-Pittman and the Hall of Fame's selection committee.

The winner of the 2021 Katrina McClain Power Forward Award will be presented on Friday, April 9, 2021, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men's Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Katrina McClain Power Forward of the Year Award include Ruthy Hebard, Oregon (2020); Napheesa Collier, Connecticut (2019); and Ruthy Hebard, Oregon (2018).

SUPPORT The Houston Roundball Review via PayPal or via the Cash App.

Sign up to get ESPN+.

Or, get the Disney bundle: ESPN+, Disney+, and Hulu!!! Save when you bundle all three and get the best movies, shows & sports.

For more information on the 2021 Katrina McClain Power Forward of the Year Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #McClainAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, November 13.

2021 Katrina McClain Power Forward of the Year Award Candidates*

Jasmine Walker Alabama
Cate Reese Arizona
Unique Thompson Auburn
NaLyssa Smith Baylor
Maddi Utti Fresno State
Natalie Kucowski Lafayette
Naz Hillmon Michigan
Jessika Carter Mississippi State
Sam Brunelle Notre Dame
Natasha Mack Oklahoma State
Taylor Jones Oregon State
Brooklyn McDavid Pacific
Bethy Mununga South Florida
Cameron Brink Stanford
Francesca Belibi Stanford
N'dea Jones Texas A&M
Alissa Pili USC
Chelsey Perry UT Martin
Maddy Siegrist Villanova
Raneem Elgedawy Western Kentucky

* - Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2020-21 season

CLICK HERE for more NCAAW news and info.

 Subscribe in a RSS Feeds reader

Get NCAA women's hoops info from The HRR via Email

Click to Support

The HRR on Twitter

The HRR on Facebook