The Houston Roundball Review is an online basketball publication
by: Kris Gardner, United States Basketball Writers Association member. Credentialed media member since 1997. USBWA approved online journalist. Voter of Lowe's Senior CLASS, Naismith, USBWA, and Wooden awards.

Contact Kris Gardner for details pertaining to advertising on the website; the blogs; and / or the podcasts.

Get NCAA women's hoops info from The HRR via Email

Big 12 Women's Basketball Announces 2019-20 Preseason Awards

POSTED: October 9, 2019 -- 12:59 p.m. CT

Baylor's Lauren Cox and Te'a Cooper headline the 2019-20 Preseason All-Big 12 Women's Basketball Awards. The awards are chosen by head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes.

Cox was selected as the Preseason Player of the Year after guiding the Lady Bears to the 2019 National Championship. Cooper was named the Preseason Newcomer of the Year and Texas Longhorns' freshman guard Celeste Taylor earned Preseason Freshman of the Year accolades.

Cox repeated as the Big 12's Defensive Player of the Year last season, becoming just the third player since the award's inception to earn that honor. She averaged 13.0 points, 8.3 rebounds and a league-leading 97 blocks as a junior in 2018-19. The Flower Mound, Texas, native garnered multiple accolades including Big 12 Sports Person of the Year, All-America status (AP and WBCA) and was named the Most Outstanding Player of the NCAA Championship Greensboro Regional.

Cooper, a graduate transfer from South Carolina, averaged 11.9 points last season for the Gamecocks. She helped South Carolina register a Sweet 16 appearance in 2019. Cooper was named to the All-SEC Second Team in 2018-19 and was an All-SEC Freshman Team Selection in 2015-16 when she played at Tennessee.

Joining Cox on the Preseason All-Big 12 Team are Juicy Landrum (Baylor), NaLyssa Smith (Baylor), Kristin Scott (Iowa State), Peyton Williams (K-State), Ana Llanusa (Oklahoma), Vivian Gray (Oklahoma State), Joyner Holmes (Texas), Sug Sutton (Texas), Brittany Brewer (Texas Tech) and Tynice Martin (West Virginia).

The 2019-20 season opens on Tuesday, November 5 with three non-conference games. League action begins on Friday, January 3. The Big 12 Tipoff is set for Tuesday, October 22, in Kansas City, at Municipal Auditorium and the Convention Center.

2019-20 Big 12 Conference Women's Basketball Preseason Awards (coaches not allowed to vote for own players)

Preseason Player of the Year - Lauren Cox, Baylor, F, 6'4", Sr, Flower Mound, TX

Preseason Newcomer of the Year - Te'a Cooper, Baylor, G, 5'8", Gr, Powder Springs, GA

Preseason Freshman of the Year - Celeste Taylor, Texas, G, 5'11", Valley Stream, NY

In March 2019, ESPN marketing contacted me about partnering to get people to sign up to ESPN+. (Partnering means I receive a commission when someone signs up to ESPN+.)

Sign up to ESPN+; and, at the same time, support The Houston Roundball Review (me) continue the work which began in 1994.

Stream live sports and ESPN originals PLUS receive the ESPN Insider when you subscribe to ESPN+ for only $4.99 a month. Click this link and sign up.

Or, contribute to The HRR's Tip Jar. Thank you in advance.

Preseason All-Big 12 Team

Lauren Cox Baylor
6'4" Sr-3L 13.0 8.3 Flower Mound, TX
Juicy Landrum Baylor
5'8" Sr-3L 11.1 5.1 Waco, TX
NaLyssa Smith Baylor
6'2" So-1L 8.4 5.1 Converse, TX
Kristin Scott Iowa State
6'3" Jr-2L 12.8 7.1 Kasson, MN
Peyton Williams K-State
6'4" Sr-3L 15.5 9.5 Topeka, KS
Ana Llanusa Oklahoma
6'0" Jr-2L 18.3 3.4 Choctaw, OK
Vivian Gray Oklahoma State
6'1" Jr-1L 20.0 5.5 Argyle, TX
Joyner Holmes Texas
6'3" Sr-3L 11.8 6.7 Cedar Hill, TX
Sug Sutton Texas
5'8" Sr-3L 12.7 5.4 St. Louis, MO
Brittany Brewer Texas Tech
6'5" Sr-3L 13.9 7.3 Abilene, TX
Tynice Martin West Virginia
5'11" Sr-3L 18.0 5.8 Atlanta, GA*

* - There was a tie, which included an 11th individual for the Preseason All-Big 12 Team.

Honorable Mention - (listed alphabetically by school)

Te'a Cooper (Baylor), DiDi Richards (Baylor), Ashley Joens (Iowa State), Rachel Ranke (K-State), Kianna Ray (TCU), Charli Collier (Texas), Lashann Higgs (Texas), Chrislyn Carr (Texas Tech), Kari Niblack (West Virginia) and Madisen Smith (West Virginia).

CLICK HERE for more NCAAW news and info.

 Subscribe in a RSS Feeds reader

Get NCAA women's hoops info from The HRR via Email

Click to Support