The Houston Roundball Review is an online basketball publication
by: Kris Gardner, United States Basketball Writers Association member. Credentialed media member since 1997. USBWA approved online journalist. Voter of Lowe's Senior CLASS, Naismith, USBWA, and Wooden awards.

Contact Kris Gardner for details pertaining to advertising on the website; the blogs; and / or the podcasts.

Get NCAA men's hoops news from The HRR by Email

Northwestern's Jim Phillips to chair the men's basketball committee in 2021-22

POSTED: July 13, 2020 -- 11:05 a.m. CT

Jim Phillips, the Vice President of Athletics and Recreation at Northwestern, has been named the chair of the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee for the 2021-22 season. Phillips will serve as vice chair of the committee for the upcoming season, working with 2020-21 committee chair Mitch Barnhart, who is the Director of Athletics at Kentucky.

"Serving the NCAA, its member institutions and basketball student-athletes as a committee member these past three years has been an incredible honor and I am extremely humbled that my esteemed colleagues have asked me to step into this new role," said Phillips. "As a committee, we are driven by our shared passion for the game and understand the responsibility we have to diligently work to be stewards of college basketball and put on one of the most preeminent events in sports. I look forward to continuing to work and support Mitch, the rest of our committee, Dan Gavitt and the NCAA staff in the coming years."

SUPPORT The Houston Roundball Review via PayPal or via the Cash App.

Sign up to get ESPN+.

Or, get the Disney bundle: ESPN+, Disney+, and Hulu!!! Save when you bundle all three and get the best movies, shows & sports.

Phillips and Barnhart are joined on the committee by Craig Thompson, the commissioner of the Mountain West Conference; Tom Burnett, the commissioner of the Southland Conference; Bernadette McGlade, the commissioner of the Atlantic 10 Conference; Chris Reynolds, the director of athletics at Bradley; Mike O'Brien, the director of athletics at University of Toledo; Charles McClelland, the commissioner of the Southwestern Athletic Conference; Jamie Pollard, the director of athletics at Iowa State; and Bubba Cunningham, the director of athletics at North Carolina. Current chair Kevin White of Duke will rotate off the committee on September 1.

Click here for more details.

CLICK HERE for more NCAAM news and info.

 Subscribe in a RSS feeds reader

Get NCAA men's hoops news from The HRR by Email

Click to Support

The HRR on Twitter

The HRR on Facebook