The Houston Roundball Review is an online basketball publication
by: Kris Gardner, United States Basketball Writers Association member. Credentialed media member since 1997. USBWA approved online journalist. Voter of Katrina McClain, Naismith, USBWA, and Wooden awards.

Contact Kris Gardner for details pertaining to advertising on the website; the blogs; and / or the podcasts.

Get the Disney Bundle. Movies, Shows, & Sports

Caleb Mills Named to Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List

Houston Cougars logo

POSTED: November 19, 2020 -- 11:35 a.m. CT

Thursday morning, Houston Cougars sophomore guard Caleb Mills was named to the Jersey Mike's Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List. Mills was one of 50 college players from schools across the nation to be named to the List.

"The beginning of the season is filled with excitement, optimism and anticipation as each team and every player is undefeated, making the race for the Jersey Mike's Naismith Trophy wide open. While these 50 candidates are those to keep an eye on, there will be plenty of others who will enter the competition throughout the season," said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. "This year will be especially exciting as players who were unable to finish their seasons last year have even more to prove."

A list of the midseason 30 team will be released in early February, followed by the 10 national semifinalists and four finalists on March 4, 2021, and March 16, 2021, respectively. Players who do not make the watch list are still eligible to be selected for the midseason 30 team. The 2021 Jersey Mike's Naismith Trophy will be awarded during the Final Four at the Naismith Awards Brunch on April 4, 2021.

SUPPORT The Houston Roundball Review:

Purchase your Coogs' gear at via this link;

Get ESPN+ via this link;

Save when you get the Disney bundle (ESPN+, Disney+ and Hulu) with this link;

OR, contribute via PayPal or the Cash App.

2021 Men's Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List

Joel Ayayi Junior Guard Gonzaga West Coast Conference
Scottie Barnes Freshman Guard Florida State ACC
Charles Bassey Junior Center WKU C-USA
B.J. Boston Freshman Forward Kentucky SEC
James Bouknight Sophomore Guard UConn Big East
Garrison Brooks Senior Forward North Carolina ACC
Greg Brown Freshman Forward Texas Big 12
Jared Butler Junior Guard Baylor Big 12
Marcus Carr Junior Guard Minnesota Big Ten
Terrence Clarke Freshman Guard Kentucky SEC
Kofi Cockburn Sophomore Center Illinois Big Ten
Jalen Crutcher Senior Guard Dayton Atlantic 10
Cade Cunningham Freshman Guard Oklahoma State Big 12
Oscar da Silva Senior Forward Stanford Pac-12
Ayo Dosunmu Junior Guard Illinois Big Ten
Marcus Garrett Senior Guard Kansas Big 12
Luka Garza Senior Center Iowa Big Ten
Collin Gillespie Senior Guard Villanova Big East
Kellan Grady Senior Guard Davidson Atlantic 10
A.J. Green Junior Guard Northern Iowa Missouri Valley
Sam Hauser Senior Forward Virginia ACC
Aaron Henry Junior Forward Michigan State Big Ten
Matthew Hurt Sophomore Forward Duke ACC
Trayce Jackson-Davis Sophomore Forward Indiana Big Ten
Jalen Johnson Freshman Forward Duke ACC
Keyontae Johnson Junior Forward Florida SEC
David Johnson Sophomore Guard Louisville ACC
Corey Kispert Senior Forward Gonzaga West Coast Conference
Isaiah Livers Senior Forward Michigan Big Ten
Caleb Love Freshman Guard North Carolina ACC
Sandro Mamukelashvili Senior Forward Seton Hall Big Ten
Remy Martin Senior Guard Arizona State Pac-12
Caleb Mills Sophomore Guard Houston American Athletic Conference
Evan Mobley Freshman Forward USA Pac-12
Wendell Moore Sophomore Forward Duke ACC
Yvens Pons Senior Guard Tennessee SEC
Jeremiah Robinson-Earl Sophomore Forward Villanova Big East
Colbey Ross Senior Guard Pepperdine West Coast Conference
Fatts Russell Senior Guard Rhode Island Atlantic 10
Javonte Smart Junior Guard LSU SEC
Chris Smith Senior Guard UCLA Pac-12
Jalen Suggs Freshman Guard Gonzaga West Coast Conference
MaCio Teague Senior Guard Baylor Big 12
Drew Timme Sophomore Forward Gonzaga West Coast Conference
Oscar Tshiebwe Sophomore Forward West Virginia Big 12
Trendon Watford Sophomore Forward LSU SEC
Trevion Williams Junior Forward Purdue Big Ten
Ziaire Williams Freshman Forward Stanford Pac-12
McKinley Wright IV Senior Guard Colorado Pac-12
Marcus Zegarowski Junior Guard Creighton Big East

CLICK HERE for news and info about the Coogs' men's basketball team.

Click to Support The HRR

Official Merchandise

Houston Roundball Review Merch

Shop at

HBCUs gear

Houston Cougars gear

Rice Owls gear

Texas A&M Aggies gear

Texas Longhorns gear

Texas Southern Tigers gear

Shop at

Houston Rockets gear

Shop at