Houston Roundball Review: Women's Hoops

This is The Houston Roundball Review's (www.TheHRR.com) blog to discuss women's basketball. The HRR began in 1994 and has been media credentialed to cover college and pro hoops since 1997. Member of the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA).

Monday, March 08, 2010

Big 12 Announces 2009-2010 Regular Season Awards

Nebraska's perfect regular season (29-0) was rewarded today by the Big 12 as head coach Connie Yori earned Big 12 Coach of the Year and senior forward Kelsey Griffin was named Big 12 Player of the Year.

The Huskers enter the Phillips 66 Big 12 Women's Basketball Championship with a 29-0 mark and finished Big 12 play at 16-0.

Griffin is one of two Big 12 players averaging a double-double with a Conference-high 10.4 rebounds a game to go along with 20.4 points - good for second in the league. The senior forward also leads the Big 12 with 17 double-doubles and is second in field goal percentage (61.1%).

Danielle Adams (Texas A&M) was voted Big 12 Newcomer of the Year, Brittney Griner (Baylor) was selected Big 12 Freshman of the Year and Co-Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year with Yvonne Turner (Nebraska) while Bianca Smith (Colorado) earned the Sixth Man Award. The honors were voted by the league's head coaches who are not allowed to vote for their own players.

Here's the complete list of Big 12 awards.
Bookmark and Share


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home